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FURNISHING OR SELLING ALCOHOL TO MINORS

Pennsylvania Liquor Code (Administrative Liability)
	 Fines for licensees or employees for serving alcohol to a minor
	     $1,000 to $5,000 fine and/or suspension or revocation of license and mandatory compliance with RAMP for the first offense.. . . . . . . . . . . . .          
Pennsylvania Crimes Code (Criminal Liability)
	 Fines for anyone furnishing or selling to a minor
	     Minimum $1,000 for the first offense and $2,500 for each subsequent offense and possible imprisonment up to 1 year. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               
Dram Shop Laws (Civil Liability)
	 Civil lawsuits for furnishing or selling alcohol to minors
	     Licensees or employees can be sued for death, injury, or damage caused by a minor who is served alcohol . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       
ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION

A valid photo driver’s license issued by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation or by any other state
	 Must have photo and be valid (cannot be expired). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                        
A valid photo identification card issued by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation or by any other state
	 Must have photo and be valid (cannot be expired). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                        
A valid armed forces identification card containing the holder’s photograph
	 Must have photo and be valid (cannot be expired). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                        
A valid passport, passport card, or travel visa containing the holder’s photograph
	 Must have photo and be valid (cannot be expired). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                        
carding practices
It is recommended that anyone who appears to be under the age of 30 be considered a potential underage drinker and be
asked to provide proper identification. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                             
To defend yourself against citations for serving minors, you should document your age verification method. The Pennsylvania Liquor  
Code allows the following methods to be used in defense: photographs, photocopies, videos, ID swipe machines, or a 
completed Declaration of Age Card. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

House policies have been discussed regarding managing potential fake IDs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 

SELLING ALCOHOL TO VISIBLY INTOXICATED CUSTOMERS

Pennsylvania Liquor Code (Administrative Liability)
	 Fines for licensees or employees for selling or serving alcohol to a visibly intoxicated person
	     $1,000 to $5,000 fine, and/or suspension or revocation of license and mandatory compliance with RAMP for the first offense. . . . . . . . . . . . .          

Any violation of Chapter 4 section 493(1) of the Liquor Code can be the basis of a criminal charge under the Liquor Code (misdemeanor)
	     Fines up to $5,000 and/or imprisonment for 3 months to 1 year. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                           

Dram Shop Laws (Civil Liability)
	 Civil lawsuits for furnishing or selling alcohol to a visibly intoxicated person
	     Licensees or employees can be sued for death, injury, or damage caused by a person who is served alcohol while
	     visibly intoxicated . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                              

SERVICE OF ALCOHOL TO VISIBLY INTOXICATED CUSTOMERS
House policies have been discussed related to slowing down service of alcohol to customers when there is a concern that the
customer is going to become visibly intoxicated. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                            
House policies have been discussed related to refusing service or “cutting someone off” when the customer is visibly intoxicated. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .            
House policies have been discussed related to designated driver program or alternative transportation for customers who 
appear to be visibly intoxicated. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                         
CRIMINAL ACTIVITY ON PREMISE

House policies have been discussed as to how to handle situations when criminal activity is known to be occurring
on the premises. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                                     
ESTABLISHMENT SPECIFIC ORIENTATION FOR NEW EMPLOYEE (OPTIONAL)

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .	
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employee Signature	                                             date owner/manager signature	                                  date



NEW EMPLOYEE LICENSEE ORIENTATION INSTRUCTIONS

1.	 Each member of the alcohol service staff must complete a New Employee Licensee 		
	 Orientation (NEO) form. This includes anyone who serves alcohol or checks identification, 	
	 including owners and managers, regardless of whether or not they have been trained in a 	
	 RAMP server/seller course.

2.	 The NEO must be completed in its entirety.

3.	 Alcohol service staff must complete the top section, which includes Establishment Name, 	
	 Name of Employee, LID #, and Employee Identification Number.

4.	 Alcohol service staff must read and initial all of the statements listed under each topic on 	
	 the NEO form.

5.	 Please make sure that both the owner/manager and employee sign and date the form.

6.	 Completed forms must be maintained as part of the licensee’s operating records, required 	
	 to be kept for two (2) years in accordance with section 493(12) of the Liquor Code. 

7.	 Keep the original, completed forms for the duration of the employee’s employment.

8.	 This form needs to be completed only one (1) time by each member of the alcohol service 	
	 staff. If you wish to review this information again in the future with an employee who 		
	 previously completed the form, simply review the information and have the employee sign 	
	 and date on the back of the form.

Please note: Failure to accurately maintain these records may void your current RAMP 
certification.


