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The following 
Information is 
not intended 

to cover all 
requirements 
and situations 

involving 
Limited Winery 

Licenses but 
may be helpful in 
answering some 
basic questions.

What is a 
Limited Winery?

A winery that produces less than 
200,000 gallons per year of alcoholic 
ciders, wine or wine coolers.

How do I apply for a 
Limited Winery License?

Complete and file Form PLCB-1350. 
There is a $700.00 filing fee and a 
$385.00 license fee which is pro-rated. 
The form can be downloaded from the 
PLCB website at www.lcb.state.pa.us or 
you may call the Information Center at 
(717) 783-8250 and ask that the form 
be mailed to you.

Does the Board set operation hours for 
Limited Wineries?

Act 239 of 2004 states that limited 
wineries may be open from 9:00 a.m. 
until 11:00 p.m. any day of the week. 
The Board will entertain requests from 
limited wineries to extend sales hours 
in certain locations at other times 
during the year or beyond the set limits. 
A detailed letter needs to  be submitted 
to the Office of Chief Counsel detailing 
the location, proposed hours, dates 
of extended operation and the reason 
for the extended hours. The Board will 
review the request and advise of its 
decision.
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We currently hold a PA Limited Winery 
License. How do we obtain permission 
to participate in a wine festival to be 
held in Pennsylvania? How many 
festivals a year may we participate in?

First of all, the “festival” must meet 
the qualifications of an “alcoholic 
cider, wine and food exposition.” It 
is an event held indoors or outdoors 
with the intent of educating those 
in attendance of the availability, 
nature and quality of Pennsylvania-
produced alcoholic ciders and wines in 
conjunction with suitable food displays, 
demonstrations and sales. This does 
not include farmers markets. You 
would need to complete an application 
for a Limited Winery Exposition Permit 
(PLCB-2318). Applications must be 
filed at least 30 days in advance of the 
event. The fee is $30.00 per day. A 
permit cannot be used for more than 
30 consecutive days and the permits 
cannot be issued for more than a total 
of 100 days per calendar year.

As a holder of a PA Limited Winery 
License, can we sell wine by the glass 
at an upcoming festival?

As long as you have obtained a Limited 
Winery Exposition Permit to participate 
in the event, Act 239 of 2004 now 
allows you to sell alcoholic cider or 
wine produced by your limited winery 
by the glass, by the bottle or in case 
lots. You may also provide tasting 
samples of alcoholic ciders or wine 
in individual portions not exceeding 
one fluid ounce. Samples at such 
expositions may be sold or offered free 
of charge.

We would like to set up a kiosk at a 
local mall over the Christmas holiday to 
promote the sale of our products. How 
do we get permission to do so?

A Limited Winery License is permitted 
to have 5 additional satellite locations 
in addition to the main license location. 
Form PLCB-1685 must be completed 
and submitted with the required fee 
of $220.00. Please allow at least 45 
days for processing of your application 
including the conducting of an 
investigation of the proposed premises. 
Each location must have a separate 
manager and must be enclosed 
by soundly constructed walls, with 
controlled points of access and egress 
which are directly accessible to the 
public from a public thoroughfare.

Can we also offer food on the licensed 
limited winery premises?

Act 239 of 2004 allows limited wineries 
to sell food for consumption on or off the 
licensed premises and to sell wine and 
alcoholic ciders by the glass that would 
otherwise be sold by the bottle.Q
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Are there other products that I am 
allowed to sell on the licensed 
premises?

Yes. The Board’s Regulations (Title 40, 
Pennsylvania Code) in Section 11.111 
allows limited wineries to sell many 
items, including but not limited to, 
wine serving and storage accessories, 
wine publications, and promotional 
items. Act 239 of 2004 also allows 
limited wineries to sell wine and liquor-
scented candles bought or produced 
by them. For a complete listing of items 
that can be sold, refer to Title 40 or our 
website.

Send Questions to: 
ra-lblicensing@state.pa.us

or visit:
www.lcb.state.pa.us

Other 
Questions?
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