COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA **PENNSYLVANIA** LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

## LICENSEE NEW EMPLOYEE ORIENTATION

**BUREAU OF** ALCOHOL EDUCATION

RESPONSIBLE ALCOHOL

DATE

## MANAGEMENT PROGRAM **INSTRUCTIONS LOCATED ON PAGE 2.** EMPLOYEE NAME: EMPLOYEE ID# (LAST 4 OF SSN - MM/DD/YY): ESTABLISHMENT NAME: LID#: **EMPLOYEE** FURNISHING OR SELLING ALCOHOL TO MINORS Pennsylvania Liquor Code (Administrative Liability) • Fines for licensees or employees for serving alcohol to a minor. • \$1,000 to \$5,000 fine and/or suspension or revocation of license and mandatory compliance with RAMP for the first offense. Pennsylvania Crimes Code (Criminal Liability) • Fines for anyone furnishing or selling alcohol to a minor. • Minimum \$1,000 for the first offense, and \$2,500 for each subsequent offense and possible imprisonment up to 1 year. Dram Shop Laws (Civil Liability) · Civil lawsuits for furnishing or selling alcohol to minors. · Licensees or employees can be sued for death, injury or damage caused by a minor who is served alcohol. ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION A valid photo *driver's license* issued by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation or any other state. • Must have photo and be valid (cannot be expired). A valid photo identification card issued by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation or any other state. Must have photo and be valid (cannot be expired). A valid *U.S. Armed Forces ID card* that contains the holder's photograph. • Must have photo and be valid (cannot be expired). A Canadian driver's license or other bona fide Canadian identification, such as a Canadian-issued passport that contains a photograph. · Must have photo and be valid (cannot be expired). A valid passport, passport card, or travel visa that contains the holder's photograph. Must have photo and be valid (cannot be expired). CARDING PRACTICES It is recommended that anyone who appears to be under the age of 35 be considered a potential underage drinker and be asked to provide proper identification. To defend yourself against citations for serving minors, you should document your age verification method. • The Pennsylvania Liquor Code allows the following methods to be used in defense: photographs, photocopies, videos, ID swipe machines or a completed Declaration of Age Card. SELLING ALCOHOL TO VISIBLY INTOXICATED PERSONS (VIPs) Pennsylvania Liquor Code (Administrative Liability) • Fines for licensees or employees for selling or serving alcohol to a VIP. • \$1,000 to \$5,000 fine and/or suspension or revocation of license and mandatory compliance with RAMP for the first offense Pennsylvania Liquor Code (Criminal Liability) • Any violation of Chapter 4, Section 403(1) of the Liquor Code can be the basis of a criminal charge (misdemeanor). • Fines up to \$5,000 and/or imprisonment for 3 months to 1 year. Dram Shop Laws (Civil Liability) · Civil lawsuits for furnishing or selling alcohol to a VIP. · Licensees or employees can be sued for death, injury or damage caused by a person who is served alcohol while visibly intoxicated. SERVICE OF ALCOHOL TO VISIBLY INTOXICATED CUSTOMERS Discussed house policies relating to the slowing down of alcohol service to customers when there is a concern that the customer is going to become visibly intoxicated. Discussed house policies relating to the refusal of service or "cutting someone off" when the customer is visibly intoxicated. Discussed house policies relating to a designated driver program or providing alternative transportation for customers who appear to be visibly intoxicated. CRIMINAL ACTIVITY ON PREMISE Discussed how to handle situations when criminal activity is known to be occurring on the premises. **ESTABLISHMENT-SPECIFIC HOUSE POLICIES (OPTIONAL)** Establishment-specific house policies were discussed with employee.

## LICENSEE NEW EMPLOYEE ORIENTATION

Licensees applying for Responsible Alcohol Management Program (RAMP) certification for the first time, must have all alcohol service personnel\* complete a Licensee New Employee Orientation (NEO) Form. The orientation checklist, provided by the PLCB, addresses the liquor laws regarding service to minors, service to visibly intoxicated persons, acceptable forms of identification, carding practices and house policies.

- It is the licensee's responsibility to ensure that either the owner, manager or a designated employee conducts the orientation.
- New employees must receive orientation within 30 days of being hired by the licensee as part of the alcohol service staff.
- Alcohol service staff must read and initial all statements listed under each topic on the form. Finally, both the owner/manager and employee sign and date the bottom of the form.
- Once completed, orientation checklists should be kept by the licensee throughout the person's employment and for 2 years after separation from employment.

Please note: Failure to accurately maintain these records may void your current RAMP certification.

\*Alcohol service personnel is defined as any employe of a licensee such as a bartender, waiter or, in the case of a distributor or importing distributor, a salesperson whose primary responsibility includes the resale, furnishing or serving of liquor or malt or brewed beverages. It shall also mean any employee, such as a doorperson, whose primary responsibility is to ascertain the age of individuals who are attempting to enter the licensed premises.