
For additional information  
concerning DUI, contact: 

The Pennsylvania DUI Association
2413 N. Front St., Harrisburg, PA 17110
800.62.PADUI (72384)

www.padui.org
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MADD, Pennsylvania State Office
408 E. 4th St., Ste. 310,  

Bridgeport, PA 19405

610.825.4902
Victim toll-free number:  

877.MADDHELP (877.623.3435) 
800.848.6233

That’s Not the End of the Story
The effects of a DUI arrest can continue 
for years. Is drinking and driving worth:

	 • �depending on family, friends or public 
transportation for rides?

	 • �serving time in prison, living with parole 
restrictions and paying court costs?

	 • �possibly causing a crash and injuring 
or killing yourself or someone else?

If your insurance company considers you 
a high-risk driver, your premium could be 
increased or your policy could be canceled.

It’s just not worth it! If you have been 
drinking, don’t drive. Choose to:

•	ask a sober friend

•	 call a cab, friend or family member

•	� select a designated sober driver before 
you go out

Friends don’t let drinking friends drive.

Help make  
Pennsylvania  

roadways safe — 
for your family, friends 

and other drivers.

An Exception to the Rule — ARD

In some cases, first-time DUI offenders 
may be eligible for the ARD program.

Don’t think that if you qualify for the ARD  
program you are getting off easy. Even 
though there will be no jail sentence, the 
program could consist of any or all of the 
following:
	 • community service
	 • 6-12 months probation
	 • �attendance at Alcohol Highway Safety 

School and its costs
	 • CRN evaluation
	 • restitution
	 • court and administrative costs
	 • �treatment and other conditions that a 

judge may impose

The total cost of ARD has been 
estimated to be $2,500, excluding 
attorney fees, but costs can go higher. 

You are not eligible for the ARD program 
if you have previously been placed in 
an ARD program, have been convicted 
of DUI within the past 10 years (except  
for a first offense 3802 (a)(2) prior 
convictions), have seriously injured or 
killed someone as a result of a DUI crash 
or have a passenger under 14 years of 
age in the motor vehicle.

In addition, the district attorney may 
have other requirements that may 
disqualify you from ARD.

The Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board’s  
Bureau of Alcohol Education offers a  
variety of materials free of charge.

For more information:

ra-lbeducation@pa.gov

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board
Bureau of Alcohol Education

www.lcb.state.pa.us

800.453.PLCB (7522) 
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DUI LAW GRADING AND SENTENCING GUIDE
 (Vehicle Code Sections 3802, 3803, 3804, 3805, 3807, 3814 and 3815)

PLCB DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY
This information is not intended to 
be legal advice, but merely conveys 
information pertinent to alcohol-related 
offenses. For more information or 
further clarification, please contact your 
local district attorney’s office or a private 
attorney.

Under 21?
Underage DUI offenders face the additional 
charges of underage drinking. These include 
a $500 fine for the first underage drinking 
offense and $1,000 for the second or 
subsequent offenses. Your driving privileges 
could also be suspended for misrepresentation 
of age to secure, purchase, consume, 
possess or transport alcoholic beverages and  
carrying a false identification card. Penalties 
may also include probation or prison time.

Open Container
It is against the law in Pennsylvania for 
drivers or their passengers to consume 
alcohol or possess an open container of 
alcohol in their vehicle on Pennsylvania roads.

This law does not apply to passengers of 
legal drinking age in a commercial transport 
vehicle, such as a bus, taxi or limousine, or 
those 21 or older riding in the living quarters 
of a house coach or trailer.

Ignition Interlock Systems
An ignition interlock system uses a 
breath sample to detect whether the 
driver has consumed alcohol. If so, the 
vehicle cannot be started.

The ignition interlock system is installed 
after the license suspension has been 
served.

DUI LAW SECTIONS VIOLATED 1ST IN 10 YEARS 2ND IN 10 YEARS 3RD IN 10 YEARS 4TH IN 10 YEARS
3802 (a)(1) �Incapable of Safe 

Driving
• �No blood alcohol content (BAC) 

available
• �No implied consent violation*
• �No injury or damage (accident)**

3802 (a)(2) �BAC 0.08% to less  
than 0.10%

Ungraded misdemeanor
Mandatory 6 months probation
Fine — $300
Alcohol Highway Safety School
No license suspension
�Full drug & alcohol (D&A) 
assessment if indicated by Court 
Reporting Network (CRN)

Ungraded misdemeanor
Jail — 5 days to 6 months
Fine — $300 to $2,500
Alcohol Highway Safety School
License suspension — 12 months
Ignition — interlock — 12 months
Full D&A assessment

Misdemeanor 2
Jail — 10 days to 2 years
Fine — $500 to $5,000
License — suspension — 12 months
Ignition interlock — 12 months
Full D&A assessment

3802 (b) BAC 0.10% to less than 0.16%
3802 (a)(1) with damage or injury**
3802 (e) Minors 0.02% or greater
3802 (f) Commercial 0.04% or greater
3802 (f) �School vehicles 0.02% or 

greater
3802 (f) �Commercial/school vehicles  

incapable of safe driving

Ungraded misdemeanor
Jail — 48 hours to 6 months
Fine — $500 to $5,000
Alcohol Highway Safety School
License — suspension — 12 months
Full D&A assessment

Ungraded misdemeanor
Jail — 30 days to 6 months
Fine — $750 to $5,000
Alcohol Highway Safety School
License — suspension — 12 months
Ignition interlock — 12 months
Full D&A assessment

Misdemeanor 1
Jail — 90 days to 5 years
Fine — $1,500 to $10,000
License — suspension — 18 months
Ignition interlock — 12 months
Full D&A assessment

Misdemeanor 1
Jail — 1 to 5 years
Fine — $1,500 to $10,000
License — suspension — 18 months
Ignition interlock — 12 months
Full D&A assessment

3802 (c) BAC 0.16 or higher
3802 (a)(1) �with an implied  

consent violation*
3802 (d) Controlled Substances

Ungraded misdemeanor
Jail — 72 hours to 6 months
Fine — $1,000 to $5,000
Alcohol Highway Safety School
License — suspension — 12 months
Full D&A assessment

Misdemeanor 1
Jail — 90 days to 5 years
Fine — $1,500 to $10,000
Alcohol Highway Safety School
License — suspension — 18 months
Ignition interlock — 12 months
Full D&A assessment

Misdemeanor 1
Jail — 1 to 5 years
Fine — $2,500 to $10,000
License — suspension — 18 months
Ignition interlock — 12 months
Full D&A assessment

All penalties include up to 150 hours of community service and drug and alcohol evaluation.	 	
A full drug and alcohol assessment is required for a DUI offender prior to sentencing if any one of the following applies:
	 1. The offender has a prior DUI offense within 10 years.
	 2. The CRN Evaluation indicates a need for further evaluation for counseling or treatment.
	 3. The offender’s BAC was 0.16% or greater.
When a full assessment is completed and the assessment indicates a need for counseling or treatment, the court is required to order treatment as indicated by the  
assessment. When the court orders treatment or counseling, the court is required to order the statutory maximum as the top end of the offender’s sentence.
	 *	A violation of 3802 (a)(1) that involves an implied consent violation is subject to the highest penalty.
	 **	Violations of 3802 (a)(1) and 3802 (a)(2) that involve an accident with injury or damage are subject to the second-highest penalty level.

Mandatory license suspension guidelines for ARD are as follows:
• No suspension if BAC is under 0.10% and offender is not a minor.
• A suspension of 30 days if BAC 0.10% to <0.16%.
• �A suspension of 60 days if BAC 0.16% or greater, BAC unknown, DUI involving drugs or violations of implied 

consent or DUI resulting in an accident with bodily injury or damage to a vehicle or property.
• A suspension of 90 days if the offender is a minor.

ARD (Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition)
A DUI offense is eligible for ARD under the following circumstances:
•  It is a first offense within 10 years.
• No person, other than the offender, was killed or seriously injured.
• There was no passenger in the offender’s vehicle under the age of 14 at the time of the offense.

Mandatory Conditions of ARD for a DUI offense:
• Alcohol Highway Safety School
• �Probation supervision for a minimum of 6 months up to a maximum  

of 12 months
• �Full D&A assessment, if BAC 0.16% or greater or if the CRN profile report 

indicates a need for further evaluation for D&A counseling or treatment
• Mandatory license suspension as indicated
• Restitution to any person who suffered a financial loss
• �Payment of any other fee, surcharge or cost required by law including 

fees for Alcohol Highway Safety School, evaluation and treatment
• Any other condition established by the court


