
For further information or questions about these options, 
please write to the following address:

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board
Bureau of Licensing
P.O. Box 8940
Harrisburg, PA  17105-8940
or call us at (717) 783-8250
TTY: (717) 772-3725
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ways 
to close 

“nuisance” 
establishments

Both the Pennsylvania State Police and 
the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board 
encourage citizen involvement, through 
these four options to help keep alcoholic 
beverage licensees operating within the 
laws of Pennsylvania.

To report problems or concerns related to licensed 
establishments, refer to the following PSP-BLCE 
district office locations.

Pennsylvania State Police
Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement
District Office Locations

District Enforcement Office #1
	 6901 Woodland Avenue
	 Philadelphia PA  19142
	 (215) 726-6200     FAX: (215) 726-6230

District Enforcement Office #2
	 1095 Hanover Street
	 Wilkes-Barre, PA  18706-2028
	 (570) 826-2370     FAX: (570) 826-2281

District Enforcement Office #3
	 3655 Vartan Way
	 Harrisburg, PA  17110-9105
	 (717) 541-7961     FAX: (717) 541-7861

District Enforcement Office #4
	 313 Mt. Nebo Road
	 Pittsburgh, PA  15237-1305
	 (412) 548-2050     FAX: (412) 548-2064

District Enforcement Office #5
	 930 Route 22 East
	 Duncansville, PA  16635
	 (814) 693-6200     FAX: (814) 693-6207

District Enforcement Office #6
	 150 Choate Circle
	 Montoursville, PA  17754
	 (570) 433-3959     FAX: (570) 433-3967

District Enforcement Office #7
	 305 Sutton Street
	 Punxsutawney, PA  15767-0497
	 (814) 938-0565     FAX: (814) 938-0571

District Enforcement Office #8
	 8349 Perry Highway
	 Erie, PA  16509
	 (814) 217-0001     FAX: (814) 217-0004

District Enforcement Office #9
	 7448 Industrial Parkway
	 Macungie, PA  18062
	 (484) 519-4500     FAX: (484) 519-4503

PROCEEDS BENEFIT ALL PENNSYLVANIANS

This brochure 
presents a 
summary of 
the various 
options available 
to individuals 
or groups 
in taking action 
against 
“nuisance 
establishments.”
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 If you are aware of violations on licensed premises 
such as sales to minors, after hours sales, drugs, 

loud music, etc., contact the Pennsylvania State Police 
through their statewide 24-hour toll-free hot line (1-800-
932-0602). PSP-BLCE district offices and telephone 
numbers are listed on the back of this brochure.
Citations brought against licensees by the Pennsylvania 
State Police are ruled on by an Administrative Law Judge 
who sets penalties consisting of fines and/or suspension 
of operational privileges for a set period of time or 
revocation (termination of license).

 Secondly, in more extreme situations, an 
establishment may be declared a common 

nuisance and ordered closed by the local courts. The 
State Attorney General, the PSP-BLCE, district attorneys, 
municipalities or “a person who resides or has a place 
of business within 500 feet of the location of the alleged 
nuisance establishment” may bring an action to declare 
such nuisance under Section 611 of the Pennsylvania 
Liquor Code. Nuisance actions could result in a court 
order to padlock an establishment. Additionally, incidents 
such as loud and boisterous crowds, drug activity and lit-
ter problems occurring outside an establishment can also 
be addressed through this option. Such incidents should 
be reported immediately to your local police and/or the 
Pennsylvania State Police for investigation and documen-
tation. The Attorney General or the District Attorney may 
bring a “drug nuisance” action against the licensee based 
on activity on or about the premise.
Contact the local PSP-BLCE, the District Attorney or 
Pennsylvania Attorney General if you wish to initiate 
a nuisance action. To prevail in a nuisance action, we 
recommend you present the following.
•►Complete records of any nuisance activity occurring in 
and/or around the licensed establishment.
•►Testimony from those who have firsthand knowledge 
of nuisance type activity.
Without the support and commitment of the community, an 
action against a common nuisance will not be successful.

 The third option involves working with the PLCB 
to explore the possibility of not renewing the 

license. All alcoholic beverage licensees are required 
to submit a renewal application to the PLCB every two 
years. At renewal time, the PLCB may refuse to renew 
a license if it determines the licensee has abused its 
licensing privilege. This non-renewal action is commonly 
referred to as our “Nuisance Bar Program.”  Such refus-
als rely heavily on a licensee’s citation history and local 
police records. Therefore, it is imperative the community 
also inform and involve both the PSP-BLCE and local 
law enforcement agencies of the improper conduct of a 
licensed establishment.
Non-renewals are based principally on violations of the 
liquor laws of the Commonwealth or regulations of the 
PLCB.
Remember, this information will be considered and 
evaluated only at the time of renewal. Any member of 
the community who provides this information may be 
asked to testify at a hearing to establish a basis for non-
renewal of the license. Testimony is generally limited to 
witnesses who have first hand knowledge of improper 
conduct occurring in and around the licensed premises.
In addition, Section 478 of the Liquor Code allows the 
Bureau of Licensing to examine complaints by neighbors 
involving loud music entertainment by amplification 
or noise from entertainment, and lewd conduct on the 
licensed premise. Information furnished will be reviewed 
to determine if the “Amusement Permit” issued by the 
PLCB should be renewed.

 Another option allows residents of a municipality to 
publicly vote to eliminate certain types of licenses 

in a municipality using Section 472 of the Liquor Code 
(local option). This method would eliminate not only 
the problem establishment, but all other establishments 
holding that category of license. It is important when 
choosing this option to comply with all the time limits,
filing, petitions, etc., as required by law. For more 
information regarding local option elections, contact your 
local county board of elections or the PLCB.
Additionally, municipalities may, through ordinances and 
resolution or appropriate action in accordance with law 
and local governments, dictate other guidelines regard-
ing amusement in licensed establishments. 

The vast majority of establishments 
licensed to dispense alcoholic 
beverages across the Commonwealth 
are maintained and operated in a proper 
manner. Unfortunately, some licensed 
premises can cause problems for 
individuals, neighborhoods, or entire 
communities.

The laws of Pennsylvania provide
for a number of methods to deal with 
problems related to licensed establish-
ments. The Pennsylvania Liquor Control 
Board (PLCB) does not enforce liquor 
laws. The Pennsylvania State Police 
(PSP), through its Bureau of Liquor 
Control Enforcement (BLCE), is 
assigned the primary responsibility 
for investigating alleged violations of 
liquor laws and regulations.


