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INTRODUCTION / CONTACTS

Act 39 of 2016 was signed into law on June 8, 2016, changing the Pennsylvania Liquor Code substantially, effective 
August 8, 2016. The act included dozens of changes impacting licensees, consumers and PLCB responsibilities including 
regulatory, licensing, product procurement and marketing activities, among others. The Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board 
(PLCB) website offers a variety of useful information, notably a Summary of Act 39 of 2016 (Including Information  
Relevant to Licensees), which may be helpful in understanding some of the major changes to the Liquor Code that Act 39, 
and subsequently Act 85 of 2016, brought about. 

Questions of a legal nature regarding what these changes mean, or about other provisions of the Liquor Code, may be 
directed to the PLCB’s Office of Chief Counsel at  717-783-9454 or ra-lblegal@pa.gov. The Licensing Information Center 
(717-783-8250) can address questions regarding how to qualify for and obtain licenses and permits. 

This guide is intended to assist licensees that obtain wine expanded permits with purchasing and re-selling wines  
for off-premises consumption. Additional information regarding purchasing wine for resale can be obtained by contacting 
the PLCB Bureau of Wholesale Operations at 844-363-WINE (9463) or wineexpansionsales@pa.gov. Contact information 
for other areas of PLCB operations can be found in the Quick Reference Table in the appendix of this manual. 

PLCB Wholesale Business Developer (WBD)
The Wholesale Business Developer will be a high-volume licensee’s primary point of contact at the PLCB.  
The Wholesale Business Developer will assist the licensee with developing:

• Assortment and Demand Planning
• Promotional / Sales Planning
• Business Reviews
• Product Education

Once a licensee completes registration for the Licensee Delivery Program (LDP) , the PLCB will assign a Wholesale  
Business Developer as the licensee’s primary point of contact.

LICENSING AND PERMITS

Wine Expanded Permit
Act 39 creates a wine expanded permit (WEP) for restaurant and hotel liquor licensees. This permit allows its holder  
to sell wine for off-premises consumption (wine to go) until 11:00 p.m. on Monday through Saturday, and on Sunday  
if the holder holds a Sunday sales permit . The permit can be applied for through PLCB+, an online licensing platform  
introduced in 2016. 

Act 39 imposes the following parameters for wine-to-go sales under a WEP:

Licensing Requirements

• �.There is a $2,000 application fee for this permit and an annual renewal fee of 2 percent of the cost of wine  
purchased from the PLCB for off-premises consumption.

• �.A permit cannot be issued to a licensee whose license is subject to a pending objection from the PLCB’s  
Bureau of Licensing. However, if the licensee already holds the permit, it can continue to use it while the  
licensing matter is pending. 

• A permittee must be certified through the Responsible Alcohol Management Program (RAMP). 

http://www.lcb.pa.gov
http://www.lcb.pa.gov
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Legal/Documents/003462.pdf
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Legal/Documents/003462.pdf
mailto:ra-lblegal%40pa.gov?subject=
mailto:wineexpansionsales%40pa.gov?subject=
https://plcbplus.pa.gov/pub/Login.aspx
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Education/RAMP/Pages/RAMP-Certification.aspx
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Sales Requirements and Limitations

• A permittee may sell up to 3,000 mL (3 liters) of wine in a single transaction. 

• �Sales of wine must occur at a specifically designated area of the licensed premises, but other items, both  
alcohol and non-alcohol, may be purchased at the same location. 

• �Sales of wine must occur at a designated register staffed at all times by a cashier who is at least 18 years old 
and is RAMP-trained. No sales of wine to go may occur elsewhere (including self-checkout lanes). “Staffed at  
all times” means staff must be present on the licensed portion of the premises at all times during normal hours  
of operation.

• �A permittee must use a transaction scan device to verify the age of anyone who appears to be under  
35 years old. 

•� A permittee may not sell a private label product, defined as a product made under contract by a manufacturer/its 
agent for the exclusive right of a specific retailer. 

• �Any product brought into the PLCB system at the request of a retailer will be made available for sale to any other 
wholesale or retail customer.

• �Wine and malt or brewed beverages may only be displayed for sale on the licensed portion of the premises.

Pricing Requirements

•� �A permittee cannot sell wine to go for a price lower than the price at which it purchased the product from  
the PLCB.

• �Wine expanded permit holders must pay sales tax on purchases of wine made from the PLCB at the time of 
purchase, just as they would for any other product purchased from the PLCB. Permittees are also required to 
collect the sales tax from the consumers to whom they sell wine to go. Permittees may then seek a tax credit 
from the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue for the sales tax paid to the PLCB when filing sales and use  
tax returns. 

Retail Licensure

Following is a list of retail licenses eligible to apply for WEPs: 

• Airport Restaurant Liquor (AR)
• Economic Development Restaurant Liquor (EDR)
• Hotel Liquor (H)
• Municipal Golf Course Liquor (GR)
• Off-Track Wagering Restaurant Liquor (OWR)
• Privately-owned Public Golf Course Liquor (PGR)
• Restaurant Liquor (R)

 
Licensees qualifying to apply for a WEP may submit a request for the permit through PLCB+, a secure and easy-to-use 
online licensing platform. In order to apply for permits or licenses through PLCB+, a licensee or interested party must first 
register to use the system using an access code provided by the PLCB. Any licensee without an access code may email 
ra-lblicensingmod@pa.gov to obtain one.

http://www.revenue.pa.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://plcbplus.pa.gov/pub/Login.aspx
https://plcbplus.pa.gov/pub/Login.aspx
mailto:%20ra-lblicensingmod%40pa.gov?subject=
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PRODUCT / SELECTION
 
The PLCB divides product into the following distinct categories: 

•� �Replenishment Items (Listed Products / Stocked Items): Items that appear in the PLCB wholesale  
catalog and are readily available at for fulfillment through distribution centers. Once developed, the wholesale 
catalog will be distributed monthly to licensees after they register for LDP.

• �One-Time Buys: Items purchased by the PLCB that are not regularly available for replenishment. 

•�� �Special Liquor Orders: Items not maintained in inventory by the PLCB but available through wine and spirits 
vendors. SLO orders are not intended for higher volume items or for items similar to those already maintained  
in inventory by the PLCB.

New Product Requests
If a product is not listed in the PLCB catalog, a licensee may submit a request to their Wholesale Business Developer  
to make it available for purchase. The PLCB Wholesale New Item Request Form (provided to licensees following LOOP  
registration) will be completed and submitted to Wholesale Operations for review. If approved for requisition, the new 
product will be categorized appropriately, considering factors such as price, availability, and anticipated sales volume.

ASSORTMENT / DEMAND PLANNING
 
Proactive communication of product needs will be essential to ensure that orders are fulfilled successfully. Different  
products will have varying procurement lead times based on factors such as country of origin, production volumes and 
popular demand. 

Listed below are general lead times for wine purchased by the PLCB to facilitate proper demand planning. “Lead time”  
is how long it takes following PLCB’s submission of an order to a vendor, until the product arrives at the licensee’s facility. 
This table reflects the different lead times between an existing item and a new item not currently in the PLCB catalog. 

Lead Times  (in weeks)
Source Existing Item New Item

U.S. – East Coast 2 to 7 4 to 11
U.S. – West Coast 7 to 8 9 to 12

Europe 11 to 13 13 to 17
South America 14 to 16 16 to 20
South Africa 14 to 16 16 to 20

Australia / New Zealand 17 to 19 19 to 23

Early collaboration and planning are critical to successfully establishing and maintaining wine-to-go sales operations. 
Each PLCB Wholesale Business Developer is a resource with which the following should be discussed:

• What products (brand, varietal, size) will be carried?
• What could comprise an initial pipeline fill order?
• What are plans for the first delivery?
• Will shipment delivery occur at a store or a distribution center? 
• What do forecasts for selected items look like for the next six months? 
• Are there existing relationships with any wine companies?

In order to ensure effective collaboration among the PLCB, licensees and suppliers, the PLCB will provide a wholesale 
catalog, an initial order template, and a forecast collaboration template after a licensee is registered in LOOP. A licensee 
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can help ensure product needs are fulfilled as seamlessly as possible by sharing demand planning with the PLCB  
Wholesale Business Developer. Assortment planning and forecasts will not be shared with any other retailer or competitor.

PRICING AND TERMS OF PAYMENT

Licensee Pricing and Discounts
PLCB licensees are eligible for a 10 percent discount off retail prices for orders exceeding $50 (excluding state and county 
sales tax). This discount is not applied to Special Liquor Orders (SLOs).

Special Promotional Allowance (SPA) Items
The PLCB offers an ever-changing list of SPA SKUs at a temporary discount for purchase through its various purchase 
channels. These discounts are in addition to the licensee’s 10 percent discount. The list of SPAs, including “Current Online 
Sales,” “Closeout Sales,” and “Monthly In-store Sales” can be found at FineWineAndGoodSpirits.com under the “Sales” 
tab. They can also be found using the “Browse” feature on the landing page of the Licensee Online Order Portal (LOOP). 
The PLCB also maintains a Vendor Allowance Calendar online.

As a general guideline, most SPA pricing for “Monthly In-store Sales” end on the last Sunday of any calendar month, and 
the new SPA pricing begins the following business day. The SPA pricing is based on the price at the time of completion of 
a sale, not based upon the date the order is placed. No “rain checks” are offered at this time for SPA pricing.

The PLCB will make best efforts to satisfy forecasts submitted by WEP licensees to fulfill orders for SPAs within the sales 
period. The PLCB reserves the right to limit orders for any SPA item to satisfy overall demand from both licensees and 
individual consumers.

Payment Methods
The PLCB accepts various payment methods depending on whether the products are purchased through the Licensee 
Delivery Program or in-store. All products must be paid for when the licensee takes legal possession of the product as 
soon as it has been paid for at the store, or when signing the Bill of Lading upon delivery. 

ORDERING OVERVIEW 

Licensees will typically place their orders through the Licensee Online Order Portal (LOOP). Licensees requiring smaller 
quantities of regular/listed product (less than 20 cases per order) may choose to pick up their purchase at a store.  
Licensees requiring larger quantities (20 or more full cases per order) must use the Licensee Delivery Program (LDP). 

Licensee Online Order Portal (LOOP)
Licensees are encouraged to enroll in and utilize the Licensee Online Order Portal (LOOP), which is a web-based  
application for licensees to place orders online for wine and spirits. LOOP is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week 
for licensees to place their orders, and it includes a number of useful features that help licensees manage their business:

• Visibility into real-time inventory within stores and current and upcoming sale prices;

• Order templates for regular weekly use or to facilitate special orders for holidays and other events;

• User roles that can be established for order creation, review and submission;

• The option to create orders in advance and save and submit them later; and

•� �A variety of customizable reports and exportable data detailing up to two years of order history  
and expenditures by week.

• Email notifications updating a licensee on order fulfillment progress.

http://FineWineAndGoodSpirits.com
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Wine-and-Spirits-Suppliers/Managing-Existing-Business/Documents/Vendor%20Allowance%20Calendar.pdf
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Licensing/ResourcesForLicensees/LOOP%20Training/Delivery%20Registration.pdf
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Licensing/ResourcesForLicensees/LOOP%20Training/Delivery%20Registration.pdf
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Licensing/ResourcesForLicensees/Pages/LOOP.aspx
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LOOP helps licensees plan purchases around sales to achieve cost savings, and the system instantly shows licensees 
how much is saved on each order. 

LOOP training guides, instructional videos and details for contacting dedicated technical support staff are available online. 

To contact LOOP support staff, email PLCBLOOP@pa.gov or call 800-332-7522, option 5.

Licensee Delivery Program (LDP)
The PLCB offers product delivery direct to high-volume licensees from its distribution centers, on designated delivery 
days. Full truckload delivery is available any day Monday through Friday, and the order minimum is 20 full cases. After 
a licensee has completed the registration process for LOOP, the licensee must also register for the LDP. The Licensee 
Delivery Program registration training guide is a helpful resource to assist with registration. Once a licensee completes the 
LDP registration, the PLCB will assign a Wholesale Business Developer as the licensee’s primary point of contact.

High-volume licensees ordering 20 or more full cases per order of regular stock/listed items are required to submit orders 
through LOOP. They may receive product either by direct delivery through the LDP or by designating a Licensee Service 
Center as the pick-up location. 

Licensee Delivery Site Requirements

If necessary, representatives of the PLCB and the delivery carrier will visit the licensee’s site to verify the location is  
suitable for delivery and to review delivery procedures and delivery schedules. Delivery requirements include:

• The licensee must have the ability to accept palletized deliveries.
• The licensee must be able to accept deliveries that will be made on stretch-wrapped pallets.
• The licensee’s location must have double doors or a loading dock.

Delivery Order Requirements

Each LDP order must consist of at least 20 full cases of product stocked within distribution centers.  
Partial cases will not be shipped.

• Each order must be for delivery to a single destination, based on LID number. 

•. Each licensee will have designated delivery day(s) per week based upon the licensee’s delivery address.

• Full truckload quantities can be delivered any business day.

•� �There is a minimum three business days delivery lead time (e.g., orders placed on Monday will be  
delivered on Thursday).

Order Entry

Orders for delivery must be entered through LOOP by an authorized user who has the authority to purchase on behalf of 
the licensee. The LOOP Training Manual offers details regarding placing new delivery orders.

http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Licensing/ResourcesForLicensees/Pages/LOOPTraining.aspx
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNDGYPGOuvy4lP3PDiLgfgQ/videos
mailto:PLCBLOOP%40pa.gov%20?subject=
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Licensing/ResourcesForLicensees/LOOP%20Training/Delivery%20Registration.pdf
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Licensing/ResourcesForLicensees/LOOP%20Training/Delivery%20Registration.pdf
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Licensing/ResourcesForLicensees/LOOP%20Training/Training%20Guide.pdf
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Delivery Fees

•� �The delivery fee charged will be calculated based on the size of the licensee order and billed as a cost per case.
•� �Consolidation for multiple orders being shipped together to the same delivery address as a truckload will receive 

the appropriate consolidated order delivery fee.
• The delivery fee will appear on the invoice as a separate line item. 
• The PLCB reserves the right to adjust delivery fees at its sole discretion.
• Delivery fees include the cost of the pallets used for delivery.
• Fee structure (as of October 1, 2016):

Order Size (in cases) Delivery Fee per Case
20 to 49 $2.00
50 to 99 $1.25

100 to 499 $0.75
500 to 1,000 $0.50

For orders exceeding 1,000 cases, the case quantities over 1,000 cases will be billed according to the table above. For 
example, an order for 1,200 cases will be billed as 1,000 cases at $0.50 per case and 200 cases at $0.75 per case.

Payment 

•� �Payment for delivered merchandise and any associated fees are made by an Automated Clearing House (ACH) 
transaction or a tokenized credit card on file (CCOF). 

• �Licensees must coordinate with their accounts payable/comptroller’s office to ensure that ACH accounts  
are properly set up to have monies drawn from them by the PLCB.

• Cash and checks will not be accepted for licensee delivery orders.

• Delivery invoices will be prepared electronically and emailed to the licensee.

•� �Sales tax is determined by the premises address of LID the order is placed for, not the delivery location.  
Sales tax, including state and local taxes, is 7 percent in Allegheny County, 8 percent in Philadelphia and  
6 percent elsewhere in Pennsylvania.

Order Delivery

Dates and times for delivery will be discussed with the licensee during the registration process. The PLCB will work with 
the licensee to arrange delivery schedules that minimize the potential for unloading delays. 

Important points for the licensee’s consideration are:

• The PLCB encourages after- or off-hours deliveries in congested urban locations.

• All receiving personnel must be 18 years of age or older.

•� �Upon delivery, the driver and the licensee’s receiving personnel will verify items and quantities  
on the shipment.

• �The delivery driver will secure the signature of a receiving person on the delivery paperwork. All delivery  
exceptions will be clearly noted on the delivery paperwork. 
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• �When a licensee is receiving cases via LDP, it is important to scan the UPC barcode located on the multi-state 
label, rather than scanning the shipping container code. See diagram below.

� 
 

The SCC is normally a 14-digit number that may or may not correspond to the 12-digit UPC number.

• Title transfer for the product occurs when the licensee’s employee signs the Bill of Lading.

• �.If shipping damage occurs on the order, the damage will be noted by item and quantity by the driver and the 
receiving representative on the signed Bill of Lading. The entire damaged case will be returned to the PLCB 
distribution center.

•� �Any shortages or overages on the licensee order will be noted by item and quantity on the signed Bill of Lading 
and will be properly adjusted prior to billing.

• �.Except for over/short/damaged items as noted above, a return service fee will be charged to the licensee for  
any cases ordered and subsequently refused at delivery. In the event that a licensee does not accept delivery  
of product and the order size drops to below 20 cases, the licensee will be charged a delivery fee of $4 per case 
for the remainder of the order. 

• Neither the PLCB nor its agents will participate in pallet exchange or pickup programs. 

• Neither the PLCB nor its agents will be responsible for lumper or other fees.

Licensee Pickup at a Distribution Center

At this time, licensees are not permitted to pick orders up at a PLCB distributions centers. Backhaul is anticipated to be 
made available in the second half of 2017.

LICENSEE RETURN POLICY 

In accordance with federal guidelines concerning the return of alcohol products, the PLCB, at its sole discretion,  
may accept returns or exchanges of alcoholic products purchased from the PLCB under the following circumstances:

• Products are defective or damaged.
• Product recall(s) is/are mandated by the vendor or PLCB.
• Products were improperly shipped or not ordered.
• Seasonal retailers, only open for a limited time, seek to return products.
• Product(s) was/were discontinued by the manufacturer or importer.
• A licensee’s business is terminated.
• Product may no longer be lawfully sold due to changing laws or regulations.
• A significant change in product – such as formula, proof, label, or container* – has occurred. 

*Products returned due to a significant change in product will only be eligible for exchange for the updated product.
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The PLCB will not accept returns of products under any circumstances for the following reasons:
• Seasonal products with demand for a limited time
• Overstocked and slow-moving products
• Expired products

All licensee return requests must be submitted within 30 days of the date of purchase, whether pick up or delivery.  
Returns of saleable products are subject to a 12.5 percent restocking fee and any additional shipping charges that  
may be incurred.  

All determinations regarding returns are subject to review, and the licensee may be required to provide verification to 
support the refund claim (e.g. photos of damaged products, proof of seasonal or permanent closure, etc.). The PLCB 
reserves the right to deny any return and/or refund at its sole discretion.

LDP Returns and Adjustments
The PLCB will only accept returns on delivery items in accordance with the previously stated return policy. All product 
received via LDP should be verified for accuracy at the time of delivery. If the product is incorrect in any way upon receipt, 
it should not be accepted. Any unordered or damaged items will be returned at no charge, and the licensee’s order will be 
adjusted and billed accordingly. 

Any discrepancies discovered after the driver has left must be immediately reported to the PLCB LOOP Customer Support 
line at 800-332-7522 (option 5) to document the discrepancy.

Vendor Packaging Errors and Unordered Items

If the discrepancy is a result of a vendor packaging error (product inside the case does not match description on the  
outside of the case) or if the product was not ordered (improperly picked at the distribution center), the following return 
procedure shall be used:

• The licensee must contact LOOP (PLCBLOOP@pa.gov or 800-332-7522, option 5) to report the error.

• The licensee then prepares the merchandise for return to the PLCB distribution center.

•� �The PLCB will make arrangements for picking up the merchandise in conjunction with the next  
scheduled delivery to the licensee.

• The PLCB will process the return and refund the licensee through the original payment type.

Damaged Product Returns

Returns of damaged product discovered after delivery, such as hidden/dry breakage, broken or loose enclosure caps,  
and short cases will be processed as follows: 

• �The licensee must contact LOOP (PLCBLOOP@pa.gov or 800-332-7522, option 5) to report the  
damaged merchandise.

• Pictures or proof of the problem may be required.

• The PLCB will process the return and refund the licensee through the original payment type.

WAREHOUSING PRODUCT

In accordance with Act 39, wine stored in a non-contiguous area that is not accessible to the public, on-site at the licensed 
premises must be:

• stored in a locked area at all times;
• inaccessible to employees under 18 years old; and
• stored in an area that has been approved by the PLCB as part of the licensed premises.

mailto:PLCBLOOP%40pa.gov?subject=
mailto:PLCBLOOP%40pa.gov?subject=
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Wine may also be stored off-site if the off-site location is licensed as a bailee for hire. A bailee-for-hire license authorizes 
the bailee to store a third party’s wine; a fee may be charged for this storage. Since a bailee for hire stores wine other than 
its own, a retail license that wishes to store wine off-site must either make arrangements to do so with one of the existing 
entities that already holds a bailee-for-hire license or it may create a separate legal entity and apply for a bailee-for-hire 
license in the name of the newly created entity. 

A transporter-for-hire license is required to transport merchandise from a bailee-for-hire location to the licensee’s  
location, unless the retail licensee is merely transporting its own wine in its own vehicles from the bailee-for-hire location 
to its licensed premises.

Additional information regarding bailee-for-hire and transporter-for-hire licensure is available from the Bureau of Licensing 
(RA-LBlicensing@pa.gov) and the Licensing Information Center (717-783-8250). 

APPENDIX
Quick Reference Table: Contact Information

PLCB Department Phone Email

Wholesale Operations 844-363-WINE (9463) Wineexpansionsales@pa.gov

Licensee Online Order Portal (LOOP) &  
Licensee Delivery Program (LDP) Support

800-332-7522, option 5 PLCBLoop@pa.gov

Office of Chief Counsel 717-783-9454 RA-LBlegal@pa.gov

Fine Wine and Good Spirits E-Commerce 800-332-7522, option 4 RA-LBpawineandspirits@pa.gov

Licensing Information Center 717-783-8250 RA-LBlicensing@pa.gov

Licensing and PLCB+ Enrollment 844-707-5475 RA-LBLicensingmod@pa.gov

RAMP / Alcohol Education  866-275-8237 or  
717-772-1432

RA-LBRamp@pa.gov or  
RA-LBEducation@pa.gov

Special Liquor Ordering 800-332-7522, option 1 RA-LBslo@pa.gov

Legal Guidelines
The PLCB Office of Chief Counsel is the Agency’s legal authority, offering guidance on matters related to  
beverage alcohol regulation and licensing. Online legal resources available to licensees and the public from  
the PLCB include:

•�. Advisory Notices – General guidance issued by the PLCB addressing a specific subject. This guidance may 
arise as a result of changes to the Liquor Code or the PLCB’s Regulations, or they may address topics of  
popular interest.

•�. Advisory Opinions – Issued to specific licensees upon request to clarify matters related to the Liquor Code or  
the Board’s Regulations. 

Advisory Opinions are issued to specific licensees to clarify matters related to the Liquor Code or the PLCB’s 
Regulations. Advisory Opinions are issued in response to written requests from licensees or their  
representatives and are binding on the Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement 
(BLCE). Opinions are not typically provided, however, when the BLCE is conducting an investigation or when  
a pending citation is involved. While each Advisory Opinion applies only to the specific factual scenario presented 
by the party requesting clarification, licensees may find value in reviewing past Advisory Opinions because they 
generally inform audiences as to the PLCB’s position on issues of interest to other licensees. 

mailto:RA-LBlicensing%40pa.gov?subject=
mailto:Wineexpansionsales%40pa.gov?subject=
mailto:PLCBLoop%40pa.gov?subject=
mailto:RA-LBlegal%40pa.gov?subject=
mailto:RA-LBpawineandspirits%40pa.gov?subject=
mailto:RA-LBlicensing%40pa.gov?subject=
mailto:RA-LBLicensingmod%40pa.gov?subject=
mailto:RA-LBRamp%40pa.gov%20?subject=
mailto:RA-LBEducation%40pa.gov?subject=
mailto:RA-LBslo%40pa.gov?subject=
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Legal/Pages/Advisory-Notices.aspx
https://collab.pa.gov/lcb/Extranet/Pages/Advisory-Opinions.aspx
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To submit a written request for an Advisory Opinion, email ra-lblegal@pa.gov, fax to 717-787-8820 or write to the  
address below.

Office of Chief Counsel
Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board
401 Northwest Office Building
Harrisburg, PA 17124-0001

Advertising Guidelines
The advertising of the price and availability of alcohol is legal in Pennsylvania, so long as it is done in accordance with 
section 498 of the Liquor Code. 

PLCB Advisory Notice No. 15, Advertising of Alcoholic Beverages in Pennsylvania, addresses a number of common  
questions regarding how advertising may be conducted.

Sunday Sales Permit
A liquor licensee with a WEP and a Sunday sales permit may sell wine to go on Sundays from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m.  
If the licensee offers meals beginning at 9 a.m. on Sundays, they may begin selling wine to go at 9 a.m.

•� �Sunday sales permit will be issued to a current licensee upon submission of a $300 fee, and a properly  
executed application.

• ��.All Sunday sales permits expire at the end of each license term and must be renewed or validated each year  
with the license.

• Sunday sales permits may not be transferred from person-to-person or from place-to-place.

Purchase Permit Cards
Each retail liquor licensee is issued a Wholesale Liquor Purchase Permit Card and a Licensee Discount Card (Travel  
permit), which allow the purchase of wine and spirits at the licensee’s 10 percent discount from Fine Wine & Good  
Spirits stores. The Wholesale Liquor Purchase Permit Card is emailed along with the licensee’s license and must be  
deposited with a Fine Wine & Good Spirits store of the licensee’s choice or a Licensee Service Center, unless otherwise 
directed. The card may not be removed from the store except upon written authority from the PLCB. Questions about this 
process should be directed to the manager of a local Fine Wine & Good Spirits store.

When depositing the Wholesale Liquor Purchase Permit Card at a Fine Wine & Good Spirits store, the licensee or  
authorized officers of the licensee must sign the card in ink in the space provided. Each licensee may authorize up to  
four agents to make purchases at the Fine Wine & Good Spirits store, which becomes its “home store.” Only individuals  
regularly employed in the operation of the licensed business may be designated as agents. 

The travel permit is also emailed with the license. It is to be retained by the licensee and may be used to purchase at  
Fine Wine & Good Spirits stores other than the store at which the Wholesale Liquor Purchase Permit Card was deposited. 
When making such purchases, the card must be presented, and the purchaser must provide identification. Any licensee 
who permits its Wholesale Purchase Permit Card or Licensee Discount Card (travel permit) to be used for the purchase  
of wine or spirits for any use other than the lawful conduct of its licensed business, will subject its license to suspension  
or revocation.

Special Liquor Orders (SLOs)
Current Process

Licensees can acquire SLOs using two purchase channels. Payment requirements differ depending on the  
channel selected. 

mailto:ra-lblegal%40pa.gov?subject=
https://govt.westlaw.com/pac/Document/NBD4D69E0343111DA8A989F4EECDB8638?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Legal/Documents/000622.pdf
http://www.finewineandgoodspirits.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/FindStoreView?catalogId=10051&storeId=10051&langId=-1


LICENSEE GUIDE FOR WINE-TO-GO SALES  |  13

•� �Store Placed: Licensees that place SLOs through a Fine Wine & Good Spirits store must pay a 50 percent  
deposit prior to the order being placed with the wine and spirits vendor, regardless of whether or not they  
are enrolled in the PLCB fixed-deposit program.

•� �Vendor/Importer Placed: .Licensees that decide to participate in the fixed-deposit program may place orders  
directly through SLO vendor representatives. No deposit is required for orders placed by a vendor/importer  
on a licensee’s behalf.

Regardless of purchase channel, all SLOs must be picked up at a Fine Wine & Good Spirits store. 

For details about SLOs or the SLO fixed-deposit program,email RA-LBslo@pa.gov or call 800-332-7522, option 1.

Upcoming Changes to the SLO Process in 2017

The PLCB anticipates introducing a new SLO order process in 2017 that will allow direct delivery of SLOs from  
vendor/importers to licensees and individual consumers. When the new SLO delivery option becomes available SLO 
orders will no longer need to be picked up at Fine Wine & Good Spirits stores.

In the future, direct delivery may only occur after payment has been forwarded from the vendor/importer to the PLCB and 
once the PLCB authorizes delivery of the order. SLOs will require prepayment by ACH or credit card on file, to be billed 
when delivery of the order is confirmed by the vendor/importer.

Liability for SLOs placed by a vendor/importer on behalf of customers remains with the vendor/importer until the time  
of delivery to the customer. 

In-Store Purchases
Licensees ordering less than 20 cases of regular stock/ listed items at a time may place orders through LOOP or a  
Fine Wine & Good Spirits store. In order to maintain sufficient store inventory for other customers, the PLCB reserves 
the right to refuse processing an order through a store, or limit the quantities that may be purchased at a store, although 
use of LOOP is strongly encouraged. Advance submission of orders through LOOP will lessen the likelihood a store will  
be unable to fulfill an order.

In-store purchases do not need to be made at a licensee’s “home store” in order to receive the 10 percent licensee  
discount. The licensee must, however, have its discount card and proper identification when shopping at a store that  
is not the designated “home store.”

Licensees will receive a printed invoice with all of the details of each in-store transaction, including a register receipt,  
upon completion of each sale.

Acceptable Tender Types for In-Store Purchases

The PLCB accepts the following forms of payment from licensees for in-store purchases, including in-store items and 
Special Liquor Orders (SLO):

• Cash
• Business Check
• Debit Card
• Credit Card
• PLCB Gift Card
• Credit Card on File
• Automated Clearing House (ACH) on file

Fine Wine & Good Spirits store employees are available to offer details on how to enroll in the credit card on file or ACH 
on file programs.

mailto:RA-LBslo%40pa.gov?subject=
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Return of In-Store Purchases
Purchases made in-store by a licensee are subject to the following restrictions:

• The original receipt must be presented along with the item(s) to be returned.
• The product must have been purchased within the past 30 days.
• The product must be in saleable condition.
• The licensee will be reimbursed through the original method of payment.
• A valid photo identification must be presented upon request.
• The licensee will be reimbursed the price on the receipt less a 12.5 percent restocking fee.

Online Ordering Through FineWineAndGoodSpirits.com
At FineWineAndGoodSpirits.com, licensees will find a collection of up to 2,500 items, including rare and niche products 
and premium collection items, for sale online. Some of these products are only offered once a year or are available only in 
very limited quantities from suppliers. For those very highly allocated, in demand products, Fine Wine & Good Spirits runs 
Limited-Release Lottery sales (quantities reserved for licensees) through the e-commerce site.

Online orders can be shipped to a store or to the licensed establishment. 

Licensees are encouraged to explore how to order online.

http://www.finewineandgoodspirits.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/StoreCatalogDisplay?storeId=10051&catalogId=10051
http://www.lcb.state.pa.us/PLCB/Licensees/ResourcesforLicensees/OrderingatFWGS/FineWineAndGoodSpirits.com
http://www.lcb.pa.gov/Licensing/ResourcesForLicensees/Pages/Ordering-Wine-and-Spirits.aspx

